Master of None

Master of None

As the weather is starting to give us small breaks of comfort I am fully aware that “Netflix and Chill” will start to subside, its about that time to start getting out and exploring. Seeing new places, venturing to different restaurants, finding activities to engage in with bae. Until then I have another review for you guys. Yes, it’s a Netflix Original so get over it. This coming Monday most of you guys will be off from work due to President’s Day and others may have the rest of the week off so this is a great time to catch up on some of your favorites or even check out something new. I definitely dragged my feet to write this review and it was because my heart was not in it. One of the reasons being that I am not a huge fan of the creator/actor of the show. Another reason was because the more I do these reviews I find that I am very happy passing time, trying things out, or watching shows and reviewing them for your pleasure; that being said I find it increasingly difficult to attend my standard 9-5 (I really work 7-230) which I feel stunts my creativity. More about those thoughts later on to the long overdue review of…can you guess?? “MASTER OF NONE”

Aziz Ansari as Dev
Aziz Ansari as Dev

With season two scheduled to premier sometime this year, it seems only right to get caught up with season one before the next season starts. Released November 6th 2015 for streaming on Netflix “Master of None” was created and stars Aziz Ansari. Like I mentioned before, I am not a big fan of Aziz Ansari and never really found him to be funny, I’m not quite sure why I thought this but nonetheless it was a feeling I had. Looking back, the only explanation that I can muster up is I never gave him a chance. Ansari humor is dry humor, jokes that you wouldn’t really catch if you weren’t listening. It reminded me of Seinfeld, as a child I used watch Seinfeld and laugh uncontrollably the show was extremely funny to me. On that note I came to the conclusion that “Master of None” is in its own right hilarious but you have to actually pay attention to get the subtle jokes and gestures. The synopsis of “Master of None” states that Ansari plays in the lead role as Dev “…a 30-year-old actor who attempts to make his way through life in New York City.” 

Parents
Parents

You may ask what’s so entertaining about that?? Seeing as though some of you guys may be in your thirties or approaching that age and live in NewYork City, you may think that why would I want to watch someone basically living my life? Well I can say that it touches on a lot more than his attempt to success as an actor in NYC. Season one is comprised of ten episodes and each episode dives into the struggles that we all face as an adult. Relationships, parents, awkward dating, kids and much more is bought to life in this quirky comedy-drama series. 

The Dating Scene...
The Dating Scene…

Questions like whether or not having children is the right thing for you, or when is the right time to settle down and get married. Watching Dev maneuver through these tough life decisions are to say the least entertaining. One episode that touched my heart was episode 8 “Old People”, I have high respect and gratitude for the elderly and in this episode he shows us that as we get older sometimes we are forgotten. Though forgotten we in turn have not forgotten our youth. Staying forever young as time flies by is essential. 

Youth is not defined by age!!!
Youth is not defined by age!!!

What are friends for if not to encourage you and your dreams and hang in there with you when things aren’t so kosher. Dev is surrounded by three close friends. Arnold Baumheiser the only white friend in the group is quick to give seemingly outlandish advise. Arnold would not be my prime source of advise if I were in a crisis. Brain Cheng, his ever so good looking Asian friend, also is not one short of advice, but his advice wavers on his personal experience and can often be misplaced. Lastly Denise, Dev’s African-American lesbian friend tries to stare him on a more practical path. Watching this group of friends come together and have their meaningful discussions is not without its own hilarity.

Best Friends
Best Friends

One thing that I did take away from “Master of None” was a recommendation to watch another show, don’t judge me. It was in one episode that they binge watched “Sherlock”, and to tell you the truth I did the same and loved it. So kudos Aziz Ansari for giving me a great recommendation for my next watch! So whether you are under 30 or above 30 riding that mid-century wave, this show will take hold of you. Each episode is individual in its own right and focuses on new topics all while watching Dev attempt to achieve success in his career. Season two for me is not much anticipated however I wouldn’t mind watching it when it comes out. You’re never too old, different or untalented to achieve your hearts desire.

Till Next Time…

Leave a Reply

